Skip navigation

I’ve really been enjoying making felt plushies lately. Something I really ought not to be spending all my time on at the moment as I have Uni work to do, but let’s pretend that’s not a problem for a moment. A couple of days ago I thought I’d have a go at creating a Purple Tentacle from Day of the Tentacle and I am SO PLEASED with how it turned out.

Purple Tentacle Plushie by Skels

The trickiest part was sewing the suckers into the cone. The sucker edges are just a long strip of felt, folded in half. I folded the base edge around a bit of cord to keep it nice and round – sort of like piping.

Want to make your own? Well, I whipped up a pattern for you. I can’t be bothered to write full instructions, but use your noggin and you should be able to work it out. If you have any questions or get stuck just comment below.

DOWNLOAD: Purple Tentacle Plushie Pattern

 

I didn’t get to play Day of the Tentacle when it was first out, but my boyfriend was a big fan, and we played through it together a few years ago. They don’t make em like that anymore! I kind of wish they did. Follow this link to watch some guy play through the whole thing.

2 Comments

  1. love love love this! and it makes me so nostalgic for old adventure games :)

  2. That’s adorable.. I really like how the suckers came out. : ) Also, as it happens, they -do- ‘make them like that anymore’, at least one more like that… the people at Double Fine (which is led by some of the main guys behind some of the great old lucasarts games) kick started a new old-school adventure game. Who knows, maybe there will be new adorable adventure game stuff for plushing after all!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 73 other followers

