Skip navigation

I appear to have neglected to post about my latest project: unicycling.

Just over two years ago I saw unicycles for sale on some website somewhere and suddenly got the great idea of buying one. I did so, and for about three days it was the most awesome thing in my life. However I very quickly discovered that balancing on one tyre is flipping difficult, and falling off was not at all fun. The unicycle found a little corner of a room to live in and stayed there.

It was shortly after this that my parents visited me in Sydney for the first time. My brilliant father, rather than thinking I had gone mental for purchasing such a thing, thought it was a great idea, and told me that I shouldn’t give up, and that I should stick at it and one day master the art of unicycling.

Of course, as some of you know, it was just days later that my father unexpectedly passed away. You kind of forget what you were doing after that happens, and before you know it, another two years have passed and you aren’t really sure what you have done with them. But whenever I saw the unicycle sitting there in the corner of the room, Dad’s encouraging words rattled around my brain for a bit, and I would promise myself, “one day”.

One day” happened when I saw a post on Lifehacker about Karen X Cheng and her new website, giveit100.com, where people document their progress at something for 100 days, in the form of daily ten-second videos. A brilliant idea, and a wonderful site of positive energy and friendly encouragement. I decided that my 100 would be learning to ride my unicycle.

Image

The rest of the process is documented, in video, here: https://giveit100.com/@skels/kzer34

Honestly, if you have something you want to try your hand at, or some change you want to make in your life, you should consider signing up to giveit100.com. It’s a great incentive to have daily video spots, and so great to actually document your progress. Looking back at day 2, where I’m wobbling about and hanging onto doors in my apartment, really makes me giggle now, and is a great reminder of how far I have come.

4 Comments

  1. I just got a unicycle from my friend to try before I go buy one. The first day trying, the wide seat made my thighs super sore. That was on Monday. I am going to start over this weekend while wearing my bike shorts and hopefully I will not get sore and will be able to practice. Your videos are inspiring. I hope I can do as well. Thank you.

    • Hey! Glad to hear you are giving it a go too. I know what you mean about the seat – I actually used to (and still occasionally do) pinch my thighs as I get on it, and end up with weird looking bruises. But I’m sure it’s just a matter of getting used to it.

      Did you see the tip about the hiking pole? It’s REALLY helped me as it allows you to practice wherever you want, not just at places with a wall or fence to start at. However semi-free mounting is dangerous for your shins, so I’m going out to buy shin guards this weekend.

      Good luck learning! You should come an join us on giveit100.com if you get your own uni. :)

  2. Thanks for the encouragement. I will definitely be referring to your giveit100.com site for reference on my progress, but I’m not sure I will have to video skills to pull off my own site. I’m afraid with my clumsiness, all I would accomplish is getting myself embarrassed on Youtube. Ha Ha. Maybe I will post a video here and there on my blog here on WordPress, as well as pictures. You can watch me get better, hopefully.

    Thanks for the tip on the hiking poles. I didn’t see that part initially, so it was good that you brought it to my attention. My wife and I hike a lot, so I have many poles and sticks to choose from. The adjustable metal ones will probably work best since I shouldn’t need a full size hiking pole. I’ll let you know how it works out. I also have one of these baby carrier trailers for the bike. I turned it into a dog carrier, but anyways, it is a trailer on wheels. I don’t have the kit that turns it into a joggers push trailer, but I can modify it and make a handle so I can push it around and use it for stability while I learn. I am excited about trying something new. Now I just need to learn how to juggle at the same time. :)

    Thanks again, and I’ll be talking to you soon.

    Simon A.

    • Sounds like you are all set! Best of luck with it :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 73 other followers

